REVIEW: Judith Housel Silhouettes

We went to the South Park Walkabout tonight. It’s always a great event: good people watching, fun food and festive spirits. We received an email from one of our favorite children’s stores, So Childish, this week promoting that a woman would be on-site during the Walkabout to create silhouettes of children.

I’ve always wanted to do this for my girls. I think I remember my mother’s silhouette from when she was a child. It was on the wall of my grandparent’s house and I think they had it done at Disneyland.

We had ours done tonight and we could not be happier.

Silhouettes by Judith Housel. A is on the left, C is on the right.

Judith was extremely patient and had a kind demeanor — a must for working with moms and their tots. C was great. She sat on my lap and we just had to keep encouraging her to look straight ahead. A was much more challenging. She did not sit still and definitely had the wiggles! (At one point A was standing up, singing and marching on my lap.) But as you can see in the photo, both silhouettes came out absolutely perfect.

Each one took about eight minutes. The silhouettes are hand cut and then applied onto the white card stock. Ready for framing! It seemed quicker than that, because you talked to Judith and you immediately felt like she was an old friend. The time passed quickly. I asked her how she got started and she told me that her mother was also a silhouette artist and passed down the trade — and her scissors — to Judith.

Judith told me that she can come out to people’s houses if there were 10 or more children to create silhouettes for. Which is such a great idea for party favors, especially for children’s parties under the age of 5. She will be at So Childish again in October. Check their website for information. Otherwise you can connect with her to see where she will be next, out and about in the community.

The Details
Judith Housel
www.judithhousel.com
(620) 755-1941

4 thoughts on “REVIEW: Judith Housel Silhouettes

  1. I’ve always wanted to do this with the kids! I’m waiting for my youngest to get a bit older then I’m definitely going to have to check her out. Thanks for the recommendation!

  2. I need to go South Park more. What a great find Denise. Thinking about xmas gifts and think these will be perfect for my tween/tween kids to do this for their grandparents.

  3. I have 2 beautiful silhouettes from my grandsons that Judith made on 2006 I love them !! now I have another grandson and I really would love to have the silhouette of this little one too ,any idea how can i contact with her?
    thanks in advance

Leave a Reply

