I am a twin Mom.

There I said it. I read this post on the How Do You Do It Blog and it made me stop to think about what kind of twin Mom that I am.

The author describes her experience of attending the Twins Days Festival in Twinsburg, Ohio. She says there are TWIN MOMS who are really into having twins. Then there are twin moms (lower case) who are strapped for time and ensuring an exact match on an outfit or haircut or shoes is slim to none.

I am a twin Mom. Lower case t, upper case M. Why? Well, it’s somewhere in the middle. My girls are fraternal. To some people they look identical, to others they just look like they are related. My husband and I made a decision early on not to dress them in identical attire, but we will dress them similarly. We want to make sure they each are treated fairly and that means that they wear a similar outfit to extend the wardrobe.

We also try not to call them the “twins.” We do seem to get extra special attention when we go out. Lots of looks and questions, and we’re happy to answer most of the questions that are not too intrusive. To us they are the “girls” – our girls. Don’t get me wrong, I love seeing other twins and their parents and giving them the knowing look. Or if they are older, asking them some questions and making the same remark, “Well you made it through, there’s hope for me yet.”

And, well, I am their Mom. Lots of scheduling, doctor appointments, laundry, bottle washing, reading Good Night Gorilla, diaper changing, sleep training, teaching boundaries and manners, cuddling, tickling, bargain shopping and much more. I am surprised about how much one-on-one time I am able to give them, I can be honest and say that I did worry about this when they were first born. But now it’s not too big of an issue.

What are you? Are you a TWIN MOM, a twin mom, or something in between?

One thought on “I am a twin Mom.

  1. Probably somewhere in between. I definately don’t have it all together but things are getting better it seems. They are a little over two so I think that has a lot to do with it. I am always strapped for time but between doctor apts for me and the three kiddos, therapy apts, group therapy, and then after school activities for my oldest who wouldn’t be! So I will ride the middle I don’t always have it together but I get an A for effort!!!

Leave a Reply

