Welcome to toddlerhood, mommy

Sippy Cups

My girls are on the move. And I never thought this time of their life would come fast enough.

I remember being with my friend Sage and she had just had her baby and my girls were six months old. Sitting in their infant seats in the double snap ‘n go, we were quite a sight, especially around feeding time. And I had been telling her, “If only they could hold their own bottle, it will be so much easier.”

And then it all came together. They were able to hold their own bottle when they ate. It was so exciting — they were becoming big girls.

At our 12 month appointment, our pediatrician asked us if they were “off” the bottles yet. “Um, no,” I sheepishly replied. “Not totally.” They were not a fan of the sippy cup, but I also didn’t really push them to not use the bottle. But why? I think it was because I wasn’t ready for them to. I absolutely love holding them while they ate and I didn’t mind getting up in the middle of the night for feedings. Loved the bonding time.

After that appointment, we began to use the cups more and rely less on the bottles. The girls hardly noticed. And now we are totally off the bottle.

It was a bigger deal for me, than it was for them. But it’s good exercise for me. I know it will happen throughout our relationship as they grow and mature.

What was your “a-ha” moment when you knew your little ones were becoming “big kids?”

Leave a Reply

