Crafts: Glitter and Pumpkins!

I find myself being attracted to glitter. Not the movie, but to the beautiful, sparkly dust that comes in tiny, symmetrical containers from the craft store. Oh, and glitter nail polish too. But I’ll save that for another post.

Now that I have two little girls, the time has come to begin to become a better crafter. I’ve always loved browsing through craft stores and card shops, and bought things here and there, but never really thought much of it. But a few days ago, I was browsing the Momfia, Inc. website and found this craft project:

Add Some Bling to Your Halloween

And I thought, well, I’d love to do that! I’m not really big into Halloween (I don’t dress up, especially after wearing really horrible boxed costumes made of plastic, with masks with unnatural eyeholes held onto my head with an elastic string — I think I was about nine when I dressed up for the last time.)

I saw this craft project involves glitter and pumpkins. We were going to the pumpkin patch at Bates Nut Farm and it was a perfect opportunity to pick up some little tiny pumpkins for this project. So off we went.

Selecting pumpkins at Bates Nut Farm.

I decided to do the project on my own, because my daughter C loves to toss and throw things. I think of her as a little Mary Richards. She’ll toss anything — hats, dirt, balls, sand into the air and over her head — so she would be all about the glitter and I wasn’t prepared to get into a glitter war with her. So, after putting the girls to bed last night, I set up all of my supplies. You can go to Momfia, Inc. to get the actual step-by-step directions and photos of Rachael’s cute children participating in the craft.

Here are the main ingredients to make my glitter pumpkins. But I would use the traditional white glue, rather than clear, so you can see where it is uneven.

I had no idea they made trays that you can use especially for glitter projects! On one end there is a small hole to funnel the excess glitter back into your jar.

Pin It

The pumpkins really sparkle in the daylight!

The Bottomline:

  • Use a glitter project tray so you can recycle the glitter when you’re done with it. Makes it easier to dump back into the pot.
  • I love the Martha Stewart glitter I picked up. Very iridescent.
  • Use white Elmer’s Glue instead of the clear. I think the white will allow you to see where the glue is and you can avoid any glitter clumps.
  • If you really want perfection, when it is completely dry, the next day, use spray adhesive to touch-up any hard to reach places and apply more glitter by hand.
I hope you had as much fun as I did with this project. I think that this is a great Thanksgiving themed project as well!
4 thoughts on “Crafts: Glitter and Pumpkins!

Leave a Reply

