Cupcakes and Ice Cream Cones

Over the past few years, there have been more and more younger kids at our family holiday gatherings. Not much has changed though in accommodating their palates (toddlers usually don’t eat pie) so I thought it would be fun to make a dessert that would be fun to make AND fun to eat.

When I was younger I remembered my mom made me cupcakes in ice cream cones, so I thought I would give it a try. I took photos along the way to share my hits and misses with this tasty craft project.

20120106-220128.jpg

I used the smaller sized cones. I recommend purchasing one more box than you actually need, because they are so fragile. It is also best to open the bag so the bottom of the cones are at the top, to protect the cone’s opening.

20120106-220147.jpg

I put the empty cones in a cupcake tin, and then filled them with batter.

20120106-220206.jpg

I decided to make vanilla cupcake cones, and then got a bit too confident. I added in green and red food coloring to the batter…Those didn’t turn out so well.

20120106-220236.jpg

In addition to the frosting, I wanted to do something original and festive. I purchased gummy spearmint leaves and M&Ms. The leaves were sliced and then I used the red M&Ms to create holly leaves.

20120106-220253.jpg

It is important not to over bake the cupcakes, and take care not to dry them out.

20120106-220306.jpg

I absolutely love ribbon candy, they are like little pieces of stained glass art. And they are yummy too. So I crushed a few and added them to the top of some of the cupcakes.

20120106-220315.jpg

Crystal sprinkles lightly adorned the edges of each cupcake. The cupcakes were rather glittery.

Then I had to figure out how to transport them. In a panic, I looked that up online and found that others basically needed to create their own solution. My husband made a box with slats to help keep the cupcakes upright.

20120106-220329.jpg

20120106-220343.jpg

The cupcakes were delicious and the little ones loved them! I recommend creating these for your next birthday or holiday get together. Recipe instructions can be found online and are usually on the side of the cake mix boxes as well.

One thought on “Cupcakes and Ice Cream Cones

  1. Those turned out so cute! I was worried there for a minute when I saw you got ambitious with the food coloring ; ) Kudos to you for making something fun and festive for the kiddos!

Leave a Reply

